Skip to Content

Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Pacific Northwest Weekend Getaway

Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Pacific Northwest Weekend Getaway

Sharing is caring!

This Semiahmoo Resort and Spa review was originally published in February 2017 and updated in July 2019.
Semiahmoo Resort & Spa is one of the top Pacific Northwest weekend getaway spots for families. Scroll down for our full review!

We recently got back from our second trip to Semiahmoo Resort and Spa up in Blaine, Washington. It was just as fantastic as we remembered!

It’s no wonder why it was voted the Northwest’s Best Resort in the December 2016 issue of Seattle Magazine.

This Semiahmoo Resort and Spa review contains affiliate links which means if you purchase something from one of my affiliate links, I may earn a small commission that goes back into maintaining this blog.

Where is Semiahmoo Resort and Spa?

Semiahmoo Resort & Spa is located in Blaine, Washington about 90 minutes north of Seattle.

The resort is located a bit off the freeway with lots of turns. Thankfully, there is plenty of signage along the roads making it really easy to find the resort.

It was dark by the time we got there, but we could tell that the view would be really spectacular had we arrived during the daylight. We drove past the Semiahmoo golf course before arriving at the resort.

Again, there was plenty of signage to tell us how to get to the lobby.

Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Room Tour

Semiahmoo Resort & Spa has 3 levels. We stayed on the ground floor our first trip and it was nice to be able to walk right out to the beach.

This time, we stayed on the 2nd floor and had a nice balcony looking out at the trees.

Photo of our room at Semiahmoo Resort & Spa in Blaine, WA near Vancouver, BC #semiahmoo #semiahmooresort #pnw #pacificnorthwest

We found the Deluxe Double Queen room very clean and spacious! Photo credit: Darren Cheung

We LOVED our room at Semiahmoo Resort and Spa! We have stayed in both the Waterview and Non-view Deluxe Double Queen room, which were great since we had both kids traveling with us.
The first time we went, they also provided us with a pack and play for our baby. But, we ended up using our DockATot instead because our baby was in the midst of his 4-month sleep regression.
I found the beds to be quite comfortable. They featured Simmons® Beautyrest Black™ Georgetown™ Plush Pillow Top bedding.
Photo of the Semiahmoo Resort bathroom, which featured a large countertop and a real bathtub, perfect for a kid-friendly getaway #semiahmooresort #pnw #washingtonhotel #resort

The bathroom had one sink, complimentary toiletries, and a shower with a bath tub. Photo credit: Darren Cheung

The room also included ESA (Environmentally Sensitive Amenities) bath amenities, terry-lined bathrobes; hairdryer; Keurig K-Cup® brewing system; ironing board and iron; 42″ HDTV, functional desk/work area; room safes, micro fridge, USB power charging station; Digital Radio phone with charging extensions and WiFi.
We were able to borrow an iPad charger from the front desk, which was immensely helpful! The clock was a bit bright and it made for a great night light.
Photo of Semiahmoo Resort, which has adjoining rooms that are great for a large family vacation in Washington State #semiahmoo #washingtonstate #pnw #pnwgetaway

The door on the right was for adjoining rooms (which we did not use, but would have been nice for a larger family.) Photo credit: Darren Cheung

The only thing that was missing was bottled water. I don’t remember staying in a hotel in the past couple of years that didn’t provide a couple of complimentary bottles of water.

With the air being so dry, my husband and I were insatiably thirsty and so we relied heavily on the tap water.

Photo of the sitting area inside the room at Semiahmoo Resort in Blaine, WA 3 hours from Seattle, WA #pnw #weekendtrip #washingtonstate #semiahmooresort

This sitting area was great for looking out at the gorgeous view and for drinking coffee in the morning. Photo credit: Darren Cheung

Overall, we loved our room! The doors are a bit heavy, but it was nice knowing that our kids couldn’t just open the door and walk out!

[irp posts=”8638″ name=”Inn at Cape Kiwanda is a Kid-Friendly Oregon Coast Hotel”]

Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Kid-Friendly Activities

DISCOVERY THEATRE

Discovery Theater offers a 156” HD projector and 50 comfortable leather chairs.

While they offer movies during the evening as a resort activity, you can also request a movie to watch in the theatre during the day.

We watched a bit of Spiderman before heading to our BBQ dinner.

GIANT CHESS SET

Right outside of Packer’s Kitchen + Bar, there’s a giant outdoor chess set. Kids of all ages love to move the pieces around.

This was a great way to keep them occupied while we waited for our dinner reservation one night!

SANDBOX

Even though Semiahmoo Resort & Spa is located right on the beach, it was really nice to have a sandbox at the hotel.

Semiahmoo Resort & Spa is a kid-friendly resort in Washington State with activities like this big sandbox filled with toys.

The kids LOVE playing in the sandbox near the beach. Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

Parents could sit on nearby logs or hang out at one of the many outdoor seating areas and keep an eye on their kids.

This was super handy while we took turns roasting marshmallows!

BEACH ACTIVITIES CENTER

For adventurous families, there’s the Beach Activities Center. They rent out bikes, kayaks, and paddle boards for you to use.

It’s a great way to get active during your PNW getaway!

SEMIAHMOO KIDS CLUB

While we haven’t tried this yet, I love that there’s a kids club at Semiahmoo.

The Semiahmoo Kids Club teachers hold 2-hour kid explorations that feature arts and crafts and a range of unique activities.

It’s offered Saturdays June through September, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. for $30 per child.

GAME ROOM

My family always loves the game room at Semiahmoo Resort and Spa.

The family-friendly games included Apples to Apples Junior, Monopoly, Candyland, Chutes and Ladders, Jenga, Life, Uno, Yahtzee and more!

Semiahmoo Resort & Spa in Blaine, WA has a great game room that even has Lincoln Logs!

It was the first time my son has even seen Lincoln Logs! Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

But they also have some toys, including a large assortment of Lincoln Logs!

The room itself was quite relaxing as there were large windows overlooking Canada and the water in between.

BIRD WATCHING

There’s also free activities available, like this bird watching tour, where we saw great blue herons, crabs, seals, and 3 bald eagles!

We met at the front desk and each person got their own pair of binoculars before we started the guided walk.

They even set up a telescope so we could see the animals even closer!

EXPLORE THE BEACH

One of the main activities at Semiahmoo Resort and Spa is exploring the beach. This is where you’ll find geoducks, sand dollars, beach glass, shells, and lots of rocks!

Searching the beach for cool rocks and sea creatures is a fun thing to do in Semiahmoo Resort & Spa.

Low tide is a fun time to look for sea creatures. Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

My husband spent some time teaching our boys how to skip rocks in the water. They mostly just threw the rocks after awhile and it occupied them for quite some time!

If you go during low tide, it’s pretty cool to walk out on the mud flat and see what treasures you can find.

SEE THE PEACE ARCH CROSSING

They had a nice veranda where we could let our kids run around. The coolest thing is that we could see the Peace Arch border crossing into Canada!

I’ve only seen while driving through the border, so it was pretty spectacular to see the line of cars slowly passing from one country to the other.

They even have viewing area specifically to check it out!

BONFIRE + S’MORES

Every night at dusk, Semiahmoo Resort and Spa delivers baskets of s’mores ingredients to their bonfire sites. They even include wooden roasting sticks!

Making s'mores by the bonfire is a fabulous kid-friendly thing to do at Semiahmoo Resort & Spa in Blaine, WA

Semiahmoo provides everything you need to make s’mores! Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

I was impressed that even during the busy summer, we didn’t run out of supplies. Staff members kept delivering them!

And when we came in the wintertime, we were able to ask for the supplies to be delivered a bit earlier and it was still a fabulous experience!

Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Restaurants

PACKER’S KITCHEN + BAR

I loved that we didn’t have to walk outside at all to eat at one of the Semiahmoo Resort restaurants.

Formerly called Pierside Kitchen, Packer‘s is our favorite place to eat at Semiahmoo. We’ve eaten breakfast, lunch, and dinner here and the food (and service) has always been excellent.

They pride themselves on using locally sourced produce and partner with local companies to create amazing dishes.

Packer's Kitchen + Bar serves locally sourced food from Skagit Valley near Semiahmoo Resort

Pasta of the Day at Packer’s Kitchen + Bar. Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

They also have an extensive breakfast buffet that included fruit, pastries, meats, potatoes, pancakes, eggs, yogurt, cereal and more.

They have a great kids menu for each meal, including the breakfast buffet where even the pickiest eater will find something they like.

What’s extra awesome is that kids ages 5 and under eat free!

GREAT BLUE HERON GRILL

If you are looking to grab a bite with a view of the greens, this golf club restaurant fits the bill.

Located at Semiahmoo Golf & Country Club, the Great Blue Heron Grill offers up casual fare in a comfortable manner.

SEASIDE CAFE

This is a little coffee shop located near the lobby. They sell drinks, muffins, and other grab and go items during the morning hours.

SEASIDE BBQ DINNER

As a special event during the summer, Semiahmoo holds an outdoor Seaside BBQ dinner and it’s incredible.

During the summer, guests can enjoy a Seaside BBQ at Semiahmoo Resort & Spa

The Seaside BBQ was a hit with our family! Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

The party kicks off on the lawn at 5:30pm with live music, lawn games, and delicious food.

Their Seaside BBQ features a delicious a la carte menu with classic favorites, including hamburgers, gourmet hot dogs, ribs, fresh corn on the cob, and a Salish Sea seafood hot pot.

[irp posts=”1720″ name=”Family Travel Guide to Portland, Oregon with Toddlers”]

Semiahmoo Spa + Pool Area

INDOOR/OUTDOOR POOL AREA

What I love about this Northwest resort is that their pool area is inviting year-round.

They have an indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub in a space where you can close large garage doors in the winter or open them in the summer. And there’s plenty of lounge chairs and tables and chairs to relax.

Semiahmoo Resort & Spa has a fantastic indoor/outdoor pool area, perfect for a kid-friendly Northwest resort.

My youngest had a blast in the heated swimming pool! Photo credit: Marcie Cheung

Families will appreciate the array of pool noodles and life jackets available for kids!

Inside the locker rooms are a sauna and steam room.

FITNESS AREA

One of the coolest things for golf enthusiasts is their indoor golf simulator.

They also have a fitness center upstairs that features an indoor track as well as a fitness room that offers classes (like Zumba and Pilates) throughout the day.

And they have a large indoor tennis/basketball court as well as an outdoor tennis court.

SEMIAHMOO SPA

I’ve had a facial and massage here so far and both have been unbelievably relaxing!

Both times, I was warmly greeted by staff and given slippers and a key to the women’s locker room.

Once I had changed into the Spa robe, I headed to their relaxation area. There was a cozy fireplace, lots of comfy seating, plus they offered lemon water and trail mix.

It reminded me a lot of the Spa at the Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria, B.C.

Semiahmoo Signature Massage

I had Elka and she asked me a bit about the pressure I like and then got to work. It was fantastic to zone out for a bit and just relax.

She used hot towels to gently exfoliate my skin before using massage oil.

At the end of the massage, she put a hot towel around my face, which felt great!

Note: They also have add-on items, like their new CBD oil if you want to upgrade your experience.

Hydrating Sea Flora Facial

I was fully relaxed by the time my esthetician came to collect me.

She was very gentle and explained that SEAFLORA is a luxurious Organic Seaweed Skin and Body care line that is hand-harvested from the cold, clean Pacific Northwest coastline.

After both, I was told that I was welcome to use the steam room or sauna and take as long as I’d like in their relaxation area.

When’s the Best Time to Go to Semiahmoo Resort and Spa?

We have gone during the winter and the summer and both have been incredibly relaxing!

There’s something a bit magical about unplugging and spending a winter weekend at the beach. It’s quiet but still enough activity to keep your family busy.

In the summer, it’s busier, but there are a whole lot more outdoor activities and events available.

Is Semiahmoo Resort and Spa Pet-Friendly?

Yes! We saw lots of families with their dogs at the resort. There’s lots of space for dogs to run around on the beach and on the lawns.

We even saw dog water bowls set up around the resort.

Top 10 Things for Families to Know about Semiahmoo Resort & Spa

  1. Kids under 5 eat free at the restaurants and with room service.
  2. They have a heated indoor/outdoor pool (kids must be 6 or older to use the hot tub).
  3. Guests receive one hour free of either a bike, kayak, or paddleboard rental (which is great for testing out a family activity.)
  4. The indoor tennis/basketball court is a great place for kids to burn off some energy, especially during the chillier seasons.
  5. The staff will start the bon fire earlier than 8 p.m. if there is enough interest.
  6. There is a microwave available next to the ice machine.
  7. They have a family bathroom located near Packers that has a changing table and is very clean. The sink does not have a step stool, so be prepared to lift smaller kids.
  8. They offer a family movie night on Friday and Saturday nights at 8 p.m. Discovery Theater is available for guest use depending on availability and they have more than 100 family-friendly films.
  9. It takes about 90 minutes to get to from Seattle (but I’d allow an extra hour if you are heading up on Friday night.)
  10. Visit in late May/early June for all the summer festivities without the summer crowds!
I received complimentary room, spa service and select meals from Semiahmoo Resort and Spa for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Best Family Getaways in the Pacific Northwest

4 Day Itinerary for Vancouver, BC with Kids
Family Travel Guide to Portland, Oregon with Toddlers
10 Things To Do in Seabrook, WA with Kids
Squamish Attractions for Families Visiting Vancouver, BC

Find out more about a Pacific Northwest Getaway at Semiahmoo Resort & Spa in Blaine, WA #semiahmoo #washingtonstate #explorewa #pacificnorthwest #pnwSemiahmoo Resort & Spa is a family friendly resort in Blaine, WA near Vancouver, BC #pnw #pacificnorthwest #familytravel #semiahmooresortSemiahmoo Resort is a family friendly Washington State getaway #semiahmoo #blainewa #pnw #pacificnorthwest #weekendtrip #explorewaPicture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Best Pacific Northwest Family Vacation Ideas | Marcie in Mommyland

Monday 2nd of December 2019

[…] Read my full post about Semiahmoo Resort & Spa here. […]

Vaishnavi

Tuesday 21st of February 2017

Wow, such a lovely place it seems. Love the pictures. I can feel the fun you've had. Love tea in any form, especially cinnamon tea - sounds like just the place for my family too!

Camille

Thursday 16th of February 2017

Wow, this place looks incredible! Looks like you all had a great time!

Marcie in Mommyland

Thursday 16th of February 2017

It is such a fun place!

Elizabeth Blanton

Wednesday 15th of February 2017

Looks like a fun and relaxing weekend!

Marcie in Mommyland

Thursday 16th of February 2017

It was amazing! I wish I could go every weekend.

Brittany

Saturday 11th of February 2017

I'm nowhere near BC but if I was I would absolutley be planning a weekend at Semiahmoo! With two little ones the most important thing to me is that the resort is family friendly and with the spacious rooms, the movie theater, board games and matchbox cars, it seems like the resort really has gone out of its way to make it a great place for families to stay.

Marcie in Mommyland

Sunday 12th of February 2017

Yes they did! We're big fans of resorts that cater to families! It really makes travel with kids easy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.